Hip Replacement Surgery- Final Update.

15 Apr

This morning I went for my final (well, for the short term) follow up appointment with the surgeon who replaced my hips. Having inspected how I was walking and how I can control the new joints, no x-ray was needed, but he says I can now go crutch-free! Hooray! This is the first time in well over a decade that a ‘no crutches’ life has been an option for me, I’m thrilled.

Obviously with my ‘push the limits’ attitude, I had to ask what I can do safely with these new hips… He suggested swimming, I suggested jet skiing, he suggested riding a bike, I suggested riding a horse – or a camel! After some discussion about what the hip implants I’ve now got can actually take, we settled on how I will try things I want to try, but be sensible about it- no trampolining for me then! This is all so exciting though, it means I can finally try a few things I’ve always wanted to but in the past have been unable to due to the pain. I cannot wait to try some new things with my shiny new hips! 🙂 Starting tomorrow. I may well be joining a gym! Wooooo!

It’s a pretty positive outcome for what was a nasty situation just a year ago. I was in excruciating pain on a daily basis, now I am pain free! The decision to have these joints replaced now (even though I’m aware they’ll need doing again in the future because I am so young at the moment) was the best decision of my life.

I’m happy. 🙂

x

4 Responses to “Hip Replacement Surgery- Final Update.”

  1. Guy Henderson April 16, 2014 at 3:21 am #

    I am so happy for you Ruby !You don’t know how excited I was to hear about your progress ! Swim,run,ride horseback,bike and enjoy yourself ! We are so glad everything went well ! We miss you ! The Hendersons

    • rubysoniaallen April 27, 2014 at 9:19 am #

      Thank you Guy! I have tried swimming now, which seems fine – and less painful… and have been enjoying walking without pain too. I’m going to Barcelona for the next week, but once I return, I plan on trying the gym… that will be interesting, I’ve never done that before!

      I hope you and all of the Hendersons are well… I still hope to come and meet you one day! 🙂 x

  2. Naomi April 26, 2014 at 10:50 pm #

    Hello, Ruby!

    I came across your blog while searching for health issues people with pseudoachondroplasia might have. It makes me happy to know that, just like my beloved sister, you seem to be a strong, happy and cheerful person.
    Your blog has shed light to a lot of uncertainties I have about my sister who has got the same condition as you do, and who also suffers from pain in her joints.
    My younger sister, who is now 33 years old and lives in a small town Brazil, has been suffering from excruciating pain in her hips for the past 3 years. Her doctor told her she might have arthrose and has been prescribing strong medication that has not helped much to relieve her pain. I have suspected her pain was related to her physical condition but I now understand that IS the case.
    I understand she will most probably need a hip joint replacement but this procedure is very expensive. If you could give me and my sister more information on your own experience finding a doctor who could assess your condition, and perhaps a charity organization who helps people with PSACH and who cannot afford to have expensive surgeries, that would be great.

    Thank you.
    Naomy

    • rubysoniaallen April 27, 2014 at 9:20 am #

      Hello Naomy,

      Thank you for your message. I have sent an email to the address linked to your account on here with my reply (as I felt it would be best kept private). I hope it arrives. If it doesn’t, please let me know and I will send it again. 🙂

      Ruby x

Leave a Reply

