A Public Education

14 Mar

Here I am, sitting in McDonald’s, having a drink to break up a long car journey, and I’m listening to a conversation between a group of teenagers (I’m guessing they’re around 15/16?). A conversation about me. It started as I walked past them to sit down, “wowwwww, look how short SHE is!”. Obviously, sitting alone at the moment, I’ve been able to listen to the rest of their conversation. “She’s just weirdly short”, “I’d hate to be like that, it’s odd”, just being a couple of the comments.

Now, I won’t take offence at comments like this any more, I’ve grown used to it… But it has just made me decide I must start educating people who make such insensitive comments. So, once they’ve finished discussing the “funny” things that “midgets” can’t do, I will be going to sit with them, and I’m going to give them an education in dwarfism… And how to be polite/sensitive/nice! Not sure what reaction I’ll get, but I have to try- the behaviour of some people astounds me!

Well off I go… This could be interesting…

x

One Response to “A Public Education”

  1. Georgia March 17, 2014 at 9:24 pm #

    So did you do it? Do tell! 🙂

Leave a Reply

