6 weeks, 1 crutch, 2 hips, 1 big smile!

4 Mar

This morning I went for my 6 week follow up appointment after my second hip replacement. I admitted to my surgeon that I had tried walking a little without crutches already, which he smiled at, as I’m pushing myself to achieve goals weeks ahead of time. Having had x-rays taken of the new joint in place, to see if the bone graft is healing, he has agreed that I can use just the one crutch for the next 6 weeks (ish) as a compromise between what I should be doing and what I want to do… Sensible I suppose as he says the bone graft just needs to strengthen a little more. 🙂

Here is the new joint, next to its partner which moved in back in September…

20140304-142057.jpg

And here is a close up of all the little bits and pieces making up the new joint:

20140304-142142.jpg

I have my next appointment booked for the 15th of April… And this one is to discuss what these new hips can take in terms of exercise. With any luck, once this bone graft is solidified, I may step foot in a gym for the first time! Exciting! It’s about time I got fit, as these joints have stopped me from being so for far too long. So maybe, just maybe, this will be the year for my new hips and I to get gymming! 🙂

x

2 Responses to “6 weeks, 1 crutch, 2 hips, 1 big smile!”

  1. Theone March 4, 2014 at 2:36 pm #

    Reblogged this on Myo Aesthetics.

  2. Guy Henderson March 4, 2014 at 6:28 pm #

    Excellent Ruby ! So glad to hear you are
    doing fine . Thank you for the pictures, so interesting ! Wishing you the best !
    Guy

Leave a Reply

