Hip 2: One Month On.

20 Feb

One month ago today, my new left hip was put in it’s new home. Today, it is very happy to be there and is eager to do its job and get on with life. I’m really happy with it.

I can now drive, lay on my side at night, put my socks on myself (!) and am getting about quite easily on crutches. I keep accidentally putting more weight than I should through the new hip- because it feels so strong and ready I think- but am trying to stick by the rules until I know the bone graft is all fine when I go for an x-ray in 11 days.

The scar is healing well and I’ve got used to seeing it there now… It matches the other side quite nicely:

20140220-213932.jpg

Hopefully not too long to go before I can begin to get off these crutches and possibly commence the first crutch-free phase of my adult life! šŸ™‚ Will update once I’ve had the next appointment.

x

3 Responses to “Hip 2: One Month On.”

  1. Guy Henderson February 21, 2014 at 8:41 pm #

    We are so glad you are recovering and doing well ! We all miss seeing you on facebook,hope you are fine and thanks again for the updates.You are the best ! Guy

  2. Lissie Fuller January 24, 2015 at 6:14 am #

    I can’t believe I’ve only just found your blog. I also have pseudoachondroplasia and have never met anyone else with the condition. I had my legs lengthened over 3 years starting in 1995 and am in between 2 hip replacements right now. I had 12 weeks non-weight bearing because of the bone graft for my first hip and it nearly killed me. I found it so frustrating not being able to do stuff! I started full weight bearing on Wednesday and it feels great! I know exactly what you mean about weight bearing too early because it feels fine. My operated leg is now 2.5cm longer than my other one so can’t wait to get that sorted with the next surgery in 2 months time hopefully. I hope you are all sorted and fully recovered 12 months on now.

    • rubysoniaallen January 24, 2015 at 11:23 am #

      Hi Lissie,
      I’m so pleased you’ve managed to get weight bearing again – so frustrating having to hop about on one leg isn’t it! My hips are fantastic now thanks, I couldn’t wish for better joints… I hope your second one goes smoothly, do you have the surgery booked already?

Leave a Reply

