Hip 2 Updates…

5 Feb

It’s been 2 weeks and 2 days since I had my second hip replacement, and I thought I’d give a little update on the situation.

No painkillers being taken. No pain being felt. I can get my own socks on (quite a challenge when you can’t bend in the usual ways!). I can get about with relative ease on crutches. I’ve been told I am allowed to drive again (I have an automatic car, it’s my left hip, and I just had to ask the surgeon for permission even though I should be waiting til 6 weeks post op! My usual impatience with recovery shining through there!). Today, I’ll be taking the hired wheelchair back, having had it sitting being completely unused.

… What I’m saying is, is that this recovery is going really well. My legs certainly seem to be back to matching lengths now, the scar is neat despite being over two scars from previous surgery (I’ll post a pic once the steri strips are off tomorrow) and all the achey pains from before are gone! Very happy.

I’m eager to get to the point where the bone graft has solidified and I can begin to get off these crutches, but I know I must be patient with that bit as there is no point causing damage by rushing it…. But for now, things are going well.

🙂

x

One Response to “Hip 2 Updates…”

  1. Guy Henderson February 5, 2014 at 2:56 pm #

    Thanks for your update Ruby! We were all wondering how you were doing .We are SO HAPPY that you are fine and doing well ! Keep us posted,we love all your posts ! XX Guy

Leave a Reply

