Hip Replacement 2.

24 Jan

On Monday the 20th, I went into hospital to have my other hip replaced… Yesterday (the 23rd) I left the hospital with my matching pair of hips 🙂

The surgery went well, as my surgeon did a fantastic job of getting the implant in without having to break and straighten my femur to do so. The pain was under control for almost all of my stay in hospital, and I was able to get up out of bed and walk a little two days post surgery. I’m now at home, relying on just paracetamol to keep the pain at bay, learning how to get about with two legs which are now back to being matching length! It does seem bizarre having spent four months with a 2 inch length discrepancy, but wow am I pleased this surgery is over. 🙂 I feel like I’m at the beginning of a recovery period which will lead me back to living my life how I’d like to- pain free for a while!

With a planned recovery of three months long term (using crutches) I should be crutch free for the first time in years (13? 14 years?) in time for my 23rd birthday…. And that excites me. Finally I can get on with the things I want to focus on, and not what my body dictates I must!

So for now, I am on a mission to strengthen this hip up. I will post again once I have an x-ray or something interesting to say, but I am happy and for anyone who reads this wondering if these hip replacements truly lead to a better life? Yes, yes they do! 🙂

x

2 Responses to “Hip Replacement 2.”

  1. teresak@ntlworld.com January 24, 2014 at 1:07 pm #

    So pleased all went well Ruby, and new beginning for you. X
    Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless device

  2. Guy Henderson January 24, 2014 at 1:23 pm #

    We are all so happy for you Ruby that everything went well ! I have been thinking about you and how you were.I have been looking for your update everyday.So glad you are at home and recovering fine.We love hearing from you ! Take care XX Guy

Leave a Reply

