Update: Hip Replacement

21 Sep

Well, yesterday was an awful day, the anaesthetist ordered my epidural to be stopped without reducing its dosage first and for me to go onto liquid morphine. This was fine for 2 hours before the pain kicked in and even my high pain threshold couldn’t take it! The surgeon ordered the epidural to be started again- such relief! Then yesterday afternoon the epi was reduced level by level as the oral painkillers were built up.., then the epidural was stopped once again. This time leaving my pain at a bearable level.

The surgeon came to check it out, and decided to get me to sit on the side of the bed. Gingerly I shuffled about and eventually got to the side where he made me drop my legs to bend- very odd sensation but not painful. Of course I wanted to go a step further but I was stopped at standing- but that’s such an achievement! 3 days ago the hip was replaced before I got up and (partially weight bearing) stood using it!

Today I’ve had the epidural out and am expecting to see a physio to see if I can try to get about a bit! And I can finally wear my own clothes! Hooray! I’m hoping today will be 100% positive change so there will be a big smile on my face!

x

2 Responses to “Update: Hip Replacement”

  1. Guy Henderson September 21, 2013 at 11:50 am #

    We are all so happy for you Ruby ! Thank you so much for sharing with us,you are the best !

  2. Stephen Riley September 24, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    Hi Ruby,
    Been following it all on facebook and speaking to your Dad. He told me about this Blog this morning and I have just read it from start to finish with tears in my eyes. You really are the bravest person I have ever known.
    Really pleased that its gone so well, and that you are now home.
    Lots of Love from us all in the North. Xxx

Leave a Reply

