Positive Progress and I’m One Happy Girl! (16 days to go)

2 Sep

This morning I went to the hospital for pre-admissions tests. That meant more blood tests (which make me nervous), blood pressure checks etc. Results: Blood pressure good, no other issues and I think I’ve even got over the fear of blood tests as this time, it was absolutely fine πŸ™‚ Also, it’s most likely I’ll be having stitches and glue for the wound rather than staples- which is pleasing as I was a bit concerned about that prospect!

I also spoke to the anaesthetist about the pain control they offer during the op, and whilst I’m opting for a general anaesthetic for the operation itself, they recommend a spinal injection or epidural beforehand so I can’t feel the pain on waking. This, I’m not so keen on the idea of… But it’s just a case of ‘get on with whatever they suggest’ I think!

The third person I had to see was the physiotherapist…. And this is where the best news comes! I won’t be needing physiotherapy! The surgeon is happy for me to build the strength through walking πŸ™‚ so happy! I’m booked in for surgery at 9am on the 18th and may well be up and taking steps by that evening. That’ll be good πŸ™‚ Also! I won’t have to stick by the ‘don’t bend beyond 90 degree’ rule either, as long as the operation goes to plan. So all good good good news!

The nerves haven’t kicked in yet about the surgery, I feel like I am in such great hands now with the team at this hospital. Hooray πŸ™‚

Just 16 days to go!

x

Leave a Reply

